Feature Story from The Book of the Thousand Nights and One Night

Introduction

The Book of The Thousand Nights and One Night, rendered into English from the Literal and Complete French Translation of Dr. J.C. Mardrus by Powys Mathers is popularly known to many as the Tales of the Arabian Nights. There are several stories from this collection that still remained in my memory from the first time I came across this collection so I will be featuring some of these stories on my blog soon.

Buy on Amazon

 
 

Goodreads Blurb

Janie desperately needs a change, and she needs it yesterday.

Ever since her boyfriend died and their mutual best friends moved to Canada, she’s been lost and unable to enjoy life.

So she gets a new wardrobe, job, car, and place. In another city.

The new job and apartment are great, but her colorful neighbors will be a challenge to get used to:
Agoraphobic Michelle and her car-crash happy son who is obsessed with curing his mom,
Part-time model/fashion designer Ben who seems to be competing for the worst boyfriend award and his miserable girlfriend Linda who hates her career,
Goth metal chick Ashley who loves drugs, guns, and weird parties,
Lackluster cops Sam and Tom who want a more exciting life.

Luckily Janie has met Greg, a handsome therapist who might be the best friend a person can have. And her downstairs neighbor Kevin, a pro surfer with the looks of a Norse god, seems fun and friendly enough.

With all the antics and chaos going on, only one thing seems certain: Her neighbors provide her with more distraction and change than she was ever ready for, including an epic romance… 

Book Review:

Her Brother-In-Law

Blurb

She wanted security and comfort.
He gave her doubt and fear.
She wanted hearts and roses.
He gave her bruises and heartaches.
She wanted communication and trust.
He gave her conspiracy and attempted murder.

Read this romantic suspense novel that will quicken your pulse and fill your heart with dread… AND hope.

After the sudden loss of her parents, Cass Sampson packs up and lands in the small town of Silver Lake. She settles in and thinks she finds the man of her dreams. Brent Beckett is perfect– handsome, successful, well respected. Cass is excited about her future.

Very quickly, Cass discovers she married a monster. Brent is controlling and domineering with little respect for her. He abuses Cass mentally and physically while flaunting his affairs in her face.

And his horrid treatment of her is only the tip of his evil iceberg…

Brent staged the death of his brother, Ethan, and imprisoned him in the basement of the family home. Everyone believes Ethan was the victim of a terrible accident, but Cass discovers Ethan is very much alive.

Through the basement door, Ethan and Cass form a friendship that develops into more.
They bond in their shared misery and plot their escape.

Could Love and Freedom wait on the other side?

Buy on Amazon

Forever My Girl Book Review

Goodreads Blurb

I was never supposed to be a rock star. I had my life all planned out for me. Play football in college. Go to the NFL. Marry my high school sweetheart and live happily ever after.

I broke both our hearts that day when I told her I was leaving. I was young. I made the right decision for me, but the wrong decision for us. I’ve poured my soul into my music, but I’ve never forgotten her. Her smell, her smile.

And now I’m going back.

After ten years.

I hope I can explain that after all this time.

I still want her to be my forever girl. 

Buy on Amazon 
 
 

Book Review: Mayfly Hollow by Anne Lucy-Shanley

Goodreads Blurb

Catherine never meant to see her boss’s nemesis naked. Who goes skinny dipping in November, anyway?

When hotshot lawyer Catherine Jones fumbles a huge case in a very public way, she’s shaken to her core. She was burned once before, and she’s built a career—and a life—around never letting it happen again.

Crying burnout, Cat’s boss and mentor Alfred sends her to his lake house in Jewel Lakes County, New York, for some mandatory R&R.

The rules? No laptop. No cell phone. And stay far away from Alfred’s reckless neighbor Jake Colson, who he’s suing over a longstanding property dispute.

Even if being unplugged and on her own for two weeks is her own personal version of hell, Cat knows she’s lucky to still have her job.

Then she makes another mistake: getting caught witnessing the neighbor skinny dipping.

And liking it.

Staying away from her boss’s enemy could be her toughest case yet. The chemistry between them is so hot it’s molten.

Could Jake be the best mistake of her life? Or will falling for the enemy send them both down in flames?

The Night Mark by Tiffany Reisz

Goodreads Blurb

She has nothing to live for in the present, but finds there’s something worth dying for in the past. From Tiffany Reisz, the international bestselling storyteller behind The Bourbon Thief and The Original Sinners series, comes an enthralling new novel about a woman swept away by the tides who awakens to find herself in 1921, reunited with the husband she’s been mourning for four years. Fans of Kate Morton and Diana Gabaldon will fall in love with the mystery, romance, and beauty of an isolated South Carolina lighthouse, where a power greater than love works its magic.
Buy on Amazon

Book Review: The Deal by Elle Kennedy

Goodreads Blurb

She’s about to make a deal with the college bad boy…

Hannah Wells has finally found someone who turns her on. But while she might be confident in every other area of her life, she’s carting around a full set of baggage when it comes to sex and seduction. If she wants to get her crush’s attention, she’ll have to step out of her comfort zone and make him take notice… even if it means tutoring the annoying, childish, cocky captain of the hockey team in exchange for a pretend date.

…and it’s going to be oh so good.

All Garrett Graham has ever wanted is to play professional hockey after graduation, but his plummeting GPA is threatening everything he’s worked so hard for. If helping a sarcastic brunette make another guy jealous will help him secure his position on the team, he’s all for it. But when one unexpected kiss leads to the wildest sex of both their lives, it doesn’t take long for Garrett to realize that pretend isn’t going to cut it. Now he just has to convince Hannah that the man she wants looks a lot like him.

Buy on Amazon

Book Review: Etched in Stone (Invested in You #1) by Liv Arnold

Goodreads Blurb

Vanessa Lang lands her dream job at an investment firm, Stone Corp. When her kleptomaniac mother is caught shoplifting, Vanessa is forced to accept a deal with the detective—collect evidence of insider trading at her new job. Investigating Sebastian Stone comes with benefits. The drop-dead-gorgeous CEO introduces her to steamy encounters in public places, and in the midst of it all, she gathers information about his business. She soon has a difficult choice to make…save her mother or protect the man she loves.

book estuary book blog logo

Play with Me by Kristen Proby, A Review

Goodreads Blurb

Will Montgomery is a successful professional football player and seemingly has it all. He’s not used to being told no, and certainly doesn’t take no for an answer. So when he turns his charms on his sister’s sexy rocker-chick friend Meg, he’s not only turned down, but met with open hostility, piquing his curiosity and libido. He’s determined to show her that he’s not the arrogant jock she thinks he is, and to get her into his bed.

Megan McBride is not impressed with Will Montgomery, his fat contract, fancy car, or his arrogant public persona. She doesn’t have time for a relationship, and if she’s learned anything in life, it’s that loving means losing, so she guards her heart ferociously. But she can’t deny the overwhelming attraction to the sexy, tattooed athlete, and when Will starts breaking down her defenses and grabs hold of her heart, will she be able to admit her feelings for him, or will her troubled past cause her to lose the first man she’s ever truly loved?

Elementor WordPress Website Builder

usana holiday gift guide

The Kiss Thief by L.J. Shen, A Review

The Kiss Thief by L.J. Shen

Goodreads Blurb

They say your first kiss should be earned.

Mine was stolen by a devil in a masquerade mask under the black Chicago sky.

They say the vows you take on your wedding day are sacred.

Mine were broken before we left church.

They say your heart only beats for one man.

Mine split and bled for two rivals who fought for it until the bitter end.

I was promised to Angelo Bandini, the heir to one of the most powerful families in the Chicago Outfit.

Then taken by Senator Wolfe Keaton, who held my father’s sins over his head to force me into marriage.

They say that all great love stories have a happy ending.

I, Francesca Rossi, found myself erasing and rewriting mine until the very last chapter.

One kiss.
Two men.
Three lives.
Entwined together.

And somewhere between these two men, I had to find my forever.

Buy on Amazon